The Asia-Europe Parlimentary Partenership (ASEP) Meeting is part of the overall Asia-Europe partnership process. It serves as a forum for interparliamentary contacts, exchanges and diplomacy among parliaments, and to promote mutual understanding among the people and countries of Asia and Europe.

ASEP meeting shall normally be convened on a regular bi-annual basis alternately in Asia and in Europe before the ASEM Summit.


Rule 1 of the Rules of Procedure of ASEP stipulates that:

"In principle, members of ASEP shall be national parliaments from all ASEM member countries, and the European Parliament.

The membership of the national parliaments from countries joining ASEM after the adoption of the present Rules of Procedure shall become effective once confirmed by the subsequent ASEP meeting."

Currently, ASEP has 50 members as follows:

Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malaysia, Malta, Mongolia, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, the United Kingdom, Vietnam plus the European Parliament

*Croatia is invited as observer


  • ASEP VII October 2012, Lao PDR

  • ASEP VI: September 2010, Brussels, Belgium
  • ASEP V: June 2008, Beijing, China
  • ASEP IV: May, 2006, Helsinki, Finland
  • ASEPIII: March, 2004, Hue City, Vietnam
  • ASEP II: August, 2002, Manila, Philippines
  • ASEP I: August, 1996 , Strasbourg, France